Disconnect to Reconnect


Image

After my month of unlimited of yoga from Groupon was finished and I had received numerous calls and emails regarding new membership specials at the local Yogaworks, I finally cracked  this past November and signed up for a membership. (their tactics worked on me.) In college, I was a member of Yogaworks but never fully took advantage of the benefits of yoga or the studio within walking distance. It took me almost 2 full years to get back into a studio and start practicing on a regular basis again and let me just  say: I. Am. Hooked.

One thing I love about yoga is the hour and a half away from technology. I work in social media marketing so I am ALWAYS on some sort of tech device; whether it is my laptop, my iPhone, or my iPad. It’s even tough to get away from a screen once I get home…TV, computer or iPad some more, iPhone glued to my hand.

While I admit I have my own trouble staying focused in yoga class and not letting my mind wander, the more classes I take the more I am able to disconnect from the outside world and stay focused on the present–my yoga practice.

I think it is important for all of us to take a step back from our hectic lifestyles, take our eyes away from whatever screen we are looking at and reconnect with ourselves.

Image

Sometimes, we just need a little reminder to step back and breathe.

Yoga has given me an outlet to disconnect from technology and my sometimes hectic life and reconnect with my inner self. It gives me a chance to release any stress or tension I may have from the day, the week, the month, whatever it may be. Not to mention what the practice does for your entire body, inside and out.

For Lent, I have decided to make it a point to step away from my computer, my phone, and any other screen I can’t take my eyes off of for at least an hour a night (gotta start small, and sleeping doesn’t count). Maybe I’ll finally get to reading “Outliers” and if anything, my eyes will enjoy the break.

Whether it’s a new book, a walk outside, dinner with friends/family, or your favorite way to stay healthy and fit, be sure to find time to relax,  step away from the distractions, and enjoy life outside of your tech screens.

Have a great night, everyone!

xx.

_______________________________

 Say Hello! // Twitter // Pinterest // Instagram // Bloglovin’

One comment

Leave a comment